The Map Exchange at Radicales

One afternoon last week I was wandering in the warm March sunshine of Santiago. When I stumbled across a cafe/gallery/residency space that connects to Santiago’s notorious bar The Clinic.
I looked about and was impressed to see so many murals covering the walls. I wanted to be a part of the action!
Before leaving I introduced my self to the staff and explained 34South|61North and that I would like to involve them in The Map Exchange.
Two days later I had been given the grand tour by Danny, one of the managers and had been assigned a wall to make my own.

The wall did not look like anything special... Until I had the chance to work on it!
The wall did not look like anything special…
Until I had the chance to work on it!

I spent the next three days making a mural that is form the same sketches as the work I entered to the RA Summer Show.
Here is how the work progressed:

Pasting cutouts onto the newly whitened wall.
Pasting cutouts onto the newly whitened wall.

All that was left to do was add the sunshine that Santiago has been full of:

Finishing touches...
Finishing touches…

Watch out for developments if you are going to be in Santiago as Danny and the crew plan to keep developing this newly opened space over two more stories to make a cinema, dance space for DJ’s and bands and to open several themed bars. All that is left to say is I am very happy to have completed the first mural collage as part of The Map Exchange and for it to be part of this new creative space, located at: MONJITAS 578, SANTIAGO DE CHILE.

Have a look at The Making of video part one.

Finishing touches.
Finishing touches.
Finished, a mural that brightens up the patio of a cafe and provides information for artists and travellers alike.
Finished, a mural that brightens up the patio of a cafe and provides information for artists and travellers alike.
One thought on “The Map Exchange at Radicales”

Leave a Reply

